Jake's Watch Guest Reviews

Nice weekend at the beach

We had a nice time staying at Jakes Watch. House was was adequately accommodating and in a good location.

Reviewed on Thursday, November 14, 2013

Manager's Reply

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment! We hope to see you back soon.

Lovely rental home!

My best friend got married on Bald Head Island, so we rented the place for the long weekend. Fantastic views with a fantastic well maintained home! It is a duplex! Beware of the crazy next door neighbors housekeeper! Both beds were comfortable! The kitchen was well supplied for cooking, and a gas grill was accessible in the detached garage. The beach access is only a short walk. The golf cart that was provided was great for one couple to get around, but if you plan on going out frequently definitely rent another cart. The coffee maker died while we were there, and the rental company quickly brought us a brand new one. Definitely use the membership to the Shoal's club! The food was fantastic, and the bartender was amazing! The rental was very costly.

Reviewed on Monday, November 4, 2013

Manager's Reply

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Jake's Watch. I apologize about the neighbors housekeeper, can we get more information on what went wrong? The Shoals Club is fantastic, we are glad you enjoyed.

A little surprised...

When the tram dropped us off at the house we thought we were at the wrong place. It wasn't a free-standing house, it was a two family attached house. We reread the description of the rental and saw it was listed as a "duplex". We didn't realize that meant 2 family. So, that was disappointing. But it was clean and pretty well appointed and in a great location. And Bald Head Island is great. A few complaints: a number of lightbulbs needed to be replaced, one of the bikes had no brakes (they'll tell you they're not responsible for the bikes but it would have been good to know about the brakelessness before my daughter found out on the road - we ended up renting bikes), there was no golf cart in the garage, and then when it was delivered it had no headlight, the beach umbrella and one of the chairs was broken which we found out after we had lugged them to the beach. So, a number of things that shouldn't have been but the managing company was responsive to the things that they were responsible for.

Reviewed on Monday, August 26, 2013

Manager's Reply

Thank you for your comments, we will pass along to the owners to see about getting new amenities such as bikes, beach chairs, umbrella, etc... We note in our literature and online about our duplex cottages, we are truly sorry you were unaware. We are very happy to hear Jake's Watch was clean and well-appointed and that our Guest Services responded to your needs. We hope to see you back on the island soon.

a very relaxing and beautific experience

loved it!! very scenic, quiet, excellent food, accessible amenities, beautiful beaches,marshes,forest,marina

Reviewed on Thursday, June 2, 2011

Manager's Reply

I agree!! Thank you so much for you comments!!!